Captain America: Civil War Reaches Critical Mass, Mark Ruffalo Now Rumored to Join the Cast!

"Hulk want nine-picture deal. Hulk want points off back-end."

“Hulk want nine-picture deal. Hulk want points off back-end.”

Captain America is buying them actors in bulk, RDJ says that they’re adding the Hulk! We all thought he’d disappear like the buffalo, but now it turns out me might be seeing Mark Ruffalo! Now this might astound and amaze ya but I will destroy Joe Frazier! Okay. I had my fun. And I’m done now.

In case you hadn’t heard, it seems as if every superhero in existence is going to be making an appearance in the next Captain America movie. And now we’re hearing that yet another actor may be joining its roster. In a recent interview with The Daily Beast, Mark Ruffalo had this to say when asked about a possible appearance in the film…

“I was talking to Robert Downey the other day, and he said, ‘Ruffalo! I heard you’re coming out here,’ and I said, ‘OK! I’ll be there!'”

Hmmm. Interesting. Might this have something to do with this cryptic tweet Ruffalo sent out last month?

I think we can definitely say… maybe. I love Ruffalo’s Hulk as much as the next guy, but I have to ask, is Civil War starting to feel a little over-stuffed? So far, the movie is being jam packed with Iron Man, Captain America, Black Widow, Hawkeye, Vision, War Machine, Scarlet Witch, Ant-Man, Black Panther, and the much-ballyhooed first appearance of Spider-Man. And those are just the good guys. We’ll also be seeing the Winter Soldier, Crossbones, General Ross and Baron Zemo.

That’s several more characters than we saw in Age of Ultron. And while I really liked that movie, I thought a few of its characters were a little short-changed as far as their stories went. With so many characters to service, I could see this being an even bigger problem in Civil War. I mean, people were taking a big dump all over Batman v Superman when we found out that Aquaman was going to cameo in it. And he was, what? The fourth superhero to be added to the film?

Some might say that the movie could run closer to three hours, and that could solve some its problems, but I don’t think that’s going to happen. A shorter run-time means more showings in a day, which means more tickets sold, which means more money. I think that from now on, all of these movies are going to hover around the two and half hour mark.

On the other hand, Joe and Anthony Russo have proven themselves to be adept filmmakers. And Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely did an amazing job writing The Winter Soldier. They’re all back for Civil War, so I see no reason why they shouldn’t be able to strike gold twice. At least I hope so.

Leave a Reply

